Australian & New Zealand Childrens Haematology/Oncology Group


The ANZCHOG Board provides oversight and strategic direction, ensuring the organisation’s growth, sustainability and relevance.

Dr Chris Fraser


Queensland Children's Hospital, Brisbane

Chris Fraser has been a Senior Staff Specialist in Oncology and the Director of the Blood and Marrow Transplant Program at the Queensland Children’s Hospital since 2008. He has been the Chair of ANZCHOG since 2014 and has previously served as the Chair of the ANZCHOG BMT Group.

A/Prof Nick Gottardo

Deputy Chair

Perth Children's Hospital, Perth

Nick Gottardo is a paediatric oncologist/neuro-oncologist and Head of the Department of Paediatric Oncology and Haematology at Perth Children’s Hospital. He is also the Co-leader of the Brain Tumour Research Programme at the Telethon Kids Institute. He is the Deputy Chair of ANZCHOG and Chair of ANZCHOG's CNS Tumour Group.

Ms Liz Darch


Perth Children's Hospital, Perth

Liz Darch is currently the Clinical Nurse Manager of the Oncology/Haematology/Transplant Inpatient Unit at Perth Children’s Hospital in Western Australia. She has been Vice Chair of the ANZCHOG Nursing Committee and has been a ANZCHOG Board member for the past 4 years.

Dr Toby Trahair


Sydney Children's Hospital, Sydney

Dr. Toby Trahair has served on the ANZCHOG Board as Treasurer since 2010. Dr Trahair is an experienced paediatric haematologist and oncologist, practising at the Kids Cancer Centre since 2006. He also holds positions as a Clinical Research Fellow at the Children’s Cancer Institute Australia for Medical Research and a conjoint lecturer at the University of NSW.

Dr Sarah Hunter


Starship Children's Hospital, Auckland

Dr Sarah Hunter is Research Manager for Starship Blood and Cancer Centre and has a background in adult oncology nursing. Sarah oversees the paediatric and AYA oncology/haematology research programme at Starship and Auckland City Hospitals. She is the current New Zealand representative on the ANZCHOG Board.

Ms Hayley Vasileff


Women's and Children's Hospital, Adelaide

Ms Hayley Vasileff is the Lead Pharmacist for Paediatric Haematology & Oncology at the Women’s and Children’s Hospital in South Australia. Hayley joined the ANZCHOG Board of Directors in 2018.

A/Prof Tracey O'Brien


Sydney Children's Hospital

A/Prof O’Brien is the Director of the Kids Cancer Centre, Sydney Children’s Hospital. Tracey serves as a Director on numerous boards including the Centre for Bone Marrow Transplant Research (CIBMTR), Children’s Cancer Institute of Australia and Starlight Foundation. She has served as the previous Vice President of ANZCHOG (2008-12) and as an Executive ANZCHOG Board member (2006-2008).

A/Prof Geoffrey McCowage

ACCT Chair

The Children's Hospital at Westmead

A/Prof Geoffrey McCowage is a Senior Paediatric Oncologist at The Children’s Hospital at Westmead. He has a particular clinical interest in sarcomas and in neuro-oncology, while his research interests are in clinical trials and cancer gene therapy. Dr McCowage is the Chair of Australasian Children’s Cancer Trials.